The Glasgow Coma Scale



Lynne Meacher Once Dreamed Of Being An Artist Now She S Stuck In A Dead End Call Centre Job, Lives Alone And Is Beginning To Regret Her Life Choices Angus Rennie Was Once Her Teacher At The Glasgow School Of Art Charismatic, Feared And Revered By His Students But He Has Made Mistakes Too, And Now He S Jobless, Homeless And Begging For Cash In Glasgow City Centre.The Pair S Chance Re Encounter Spurs Lynne Certain Long Submerged Affections Suddenly Stirring To Invite Angus To Stay In Her Flat What Can Angus Do But Accept As The Past Is Recalled, The Present Unravelled And The Future Contemplated With Hope And Horror, The Odd Couple S Relationship Becomes Complicated And Contradictory Than Ever.The Glasgow Coma Scale

Neil D.A Stewart was born in Glasgow in 1978 and lives in London He was educated at the University of Glasgow and holds an MA in Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia He is the arts editor of the online magazine Civilian and works as a freelance proofreader for Tate Publishing The Glasgow Coma Scale is his first novel.

[Ebook] The Glasgow Coma Scale  By Neil D.A. Stewart – Phamimports.us
  • Paperback
  • 215 pages
  • The Glasgow Coma Scale
  • Neil D.A. Stewart
  • English
  • 18 February 2018
  • 9781472113115

10 thoughts on “The Glasgow Coma Scale

  1. says:

    I hated this.I feel bad saying it about a book set in my city but I just found it so tedious to read.It was becoming a chore I didn t like either Lynne or Angus.I hated Lynne s weakness in herself Hate reading characters like that.

  2. says:

    3.5 stars.Be warned The Glasgow Coma Scale is neither an uplifting nor inspirational read When I picked this up in the bookstore, I was expecting of a romantic element, but I didn t get it and in hindsight I m glad Neil D.A Stewart didn t go down that road.The story follows two characters Lynne, who originally dreamed of being an artist but has ended up working in a dead end call centre job, and Angus, her ex teacher at The Glasgow School of Art who as a result of certain circumstances has ended up jobless and homeless The two meet one day, and Lynne still harbouring a crush on Angus invites him to stay with her What follows are the trials and tribulations of two very different personalities, and how they attempts to maintain a very unusual life together.What I loved about this book was ultimately the setting it s rare I read a book set in my own city, and I loved the familiarity of it all, being able to envision every pub, shop, and street clearly in my mind I even pictured the character of Angus in my mind as the musician Aidan Moffat Angus was a very well drawn out character with the strong Glasgow dialect and his stubborn ness and refusal to be anything but himself, I loved reading about him I enjoyed Lynne s character less although I felt that she again was realistic, there was only so much of her self loathing and acquiescence I could stand They did make quite the odd pairing.The ending left me with mixed feelings I felt that Stewart ended the book...

  3. says:

    Lynne Meacher lives in Glasgow, where she went almost as an impulse, looking for a new life What she has found is life in a small flat, a job she loathes in a debt collection office where she is promoted, but lacks the respect of her colleagues, especially the sneering Struan, and the ending of a long term relationship with Raymond, leaving her lonely and missing his daughter, Siri, who she rarely sees So, when she stumbles across a homeless man who turns out to be Angus Rennie, who taught her when she attended the School of Art, she immediately invites him home Angus reminds her of a time when she had hoped for a meaningful career and when she had idealised the sharp talking lecturer The crush she once had on Angus becomes alive again, although she soon realises that, for him, Lynne is simply providing a safe haven.Over a period of months, we follow Angus and Lynne as they try to come to terms with the lives they have found themselves in and try to find their place in it Can Lynne stop feeling sorry for herself and find happiness Can Angus battered, lost and unwilling to compromise, rediscover his love for art and get back on his feet Although Lynne is from England, much of the speech is in broad Glaswegian and I found some of it quite beyond my understanding I do love Scottish accents and I adore many crime series set in Sc...

  4. says:

    In the last few years, it s seemed much literary fiction, jaded, unable to generate real emotional punch, has turned either to cynicism or wallowing in a morass of sentiment So it s really refreshing to come across a novel like Neil D.A Stewart s The Glasgow Coma Scale which is powerfully affecting without even a trace of mawkishness It s the tender story of two feckless losers Lynne, a former art student, trapped in the slough of a dead end call centre job and Angus, her former teacher, and once a radical artist, who s lost his muse and his job, and is living on the streets.The writing is mostly taut, controlled, but with wonderful moments of epiphany where it is looser passages of heightened language that poetically mix the sublime and the demotic Angus, and some of his associates, speak Scots, and words from this tongue add a rich spice to the novel Some of these words will be unknown to sassenachs , but are always clear from ...

  5. says:

    I received a copy of this book via NetGalley, my thanks to the publisher.Sadly, no matter how much I tried I could not finish this book I had two main issues with it 1 The Glaswegian Scottish accent and slang being used frequently but also only by certain characters which made no sense as the book is set in Scotland It s cumbersome on the brain to have to read and decipher what each word being said means and it interrupts the flow of the book in a really negative way I m of Scottish descent so I can t imagine how much harder it would be for readers on the other side of the world It doesn t enhance the book or make it authentic, it sadly detracts the readers attention away.2 Nothing much was happening up to the point where I have up, lots of words but nothing really happening I hate giving really bad ...

  6. says:

    Great characters I absolutely loved Lynne she was so dull and realistic I loved how selfish and calculating Angus was BUT I really loved the way they used each other.Plot started very well and then stalled To be fair I think that the plot was realistic and I enjoyed that Life is full of people like Lynne and Angus and quite often their lives don t m...

  7. says:

    Fans of books like Harold and Maude and The Last Free Man A NovelThe Last Free Man A Novel will definitely want to read The Glasgow Coma Scale It s very original and different, it was well written and easy to read, with very deep themes about daring to dream in the modern world.

  8. says:

    This book is saturated by a really unpleasant fixation on bodily functions You ll just be starting to forget about it, lulled into complacency by a nice bit of prose, when suddenly thrust through the scene is laser focus on sweat, balls, boogies, ejaculate, etc and you re reminded how utterly disgusting human beings are A huge amount of the book is written in very committed phonetic accent, so that ll give some readers problems.Also it s a pointless n...

  9. says:

    Yeah so this book was not great It was hard to get into and I struggled to keep reading Not much of a story line and the end wasn t that crash hot either All I can say is yay its over and there is book number 1 done for my 2019 reading challenge

  10. says:

    Preternatural sensitivity to all around you where d that come on the Glasgow Coma Scale Like you d woken from darkness and just carried on, scoring fifteen, sixteen, seventeen, kept on gaining consciousness, insight, couldn t stop waking up I picked this up as a refreshing alternative to other fictional portrayals of Glasgow as a place mired in crime, seldom interesting except when violent As the reviews have suggested, it really is a love letter to Glasgow but a complicated, sometimes bitter one It was hard not to sense an underlying political agenda within this narrative students, artists, independence voters any one with an idealistic cause are universally depicted as contemptible, wishy washy individuals It would have been nice to see this narrative display the courage of its convictions I was left wondering whether these were the author s thinly whitewashed sentiments, or whether such depict...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *